top of page
Search
  • Ellie Alicea

Project 1: Faux Selfies

Updated: Sep 25, 2019


















My alter ego is represented as the version of myself, that when in nature, feels unstoppable. I wanted to highlight some of my favorite memories that I experienced in nature in my compositions. The first still represents when I was studying abroad in Copenhagen. I have always prided myself on my ability to be very independent, but studying abroad on my own without knowing anyone was proof that I can do whatever I set my mind to. Travelling out of the country felt familiar and yet a completely different world at the same time. It looked like the same earth I’ve been living on my entire life, but it felt like a completely different universe in the way I was living. Also, a lot of my images represent my time in Boulder. I used to live in St. Louis, but when I moved to Colorado it truly felt like where I belonged and where I found out who I truly am. The mountains are a big symbol in my life for my own personal discoveries of self. An additional theme through my pictures stems from the fact that I am a Gemini which means I have an intrinsic duality. I am always feeling pulled in different directions based off of what my family wants of me, what my friends want of me, and what I owe to myself. I wanted to express my internal duality through multiple versions of the same images because I can never decide on one thing.







11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page